Telling the stories of the Anglican Church in Aotearoa, NZ and Polynesia

Chch Bishop on new ecumenical body

The Bishop of Christchurch, Victoria Matthews, is part of an important new commission to oversee the ecumenical life of the Anglican Communion.

Communion News Service  |  06 Jul 2009

The Archbishop of Canterbury and the Secretary General of the Anglican Communion have announced the membership of an important new commission,following extensive consultation with the provinces of the Communion around the world. The chair is the Most Revd Bernard Ntahoturi, Primate of the Anglican Church of Burundi.

The Inter-Anglican Standing Commission for Unity, Faith and Order (IASCUFO) will oversee the ecumenical life of the Anglican Communion, and will:

* promote the deepening of Communion between the Anglican
Communion and other Christian Churches and traditions;

* advise the Provinces, the Primates, the Anglican Consultative
Council, and the Archbishop of Canterbury, on all questions of
ecumenical engagement, as well as on questions of Anglican Faith and

* review developments in the areas of Faith, Order and Unity in
the Anglican Communion and among ecumenical partners, and give advice
upon them to the Churches of the Anglican Communion and to the
Instruments of Communion;

* assist any Province with the assessment of new proposals in the
areas of Unity, Faith and Order as requested.

IASCUFO will start work this December in Canterbury, England. It will take forward the work of the Inter-Anglican Standing
Commission on Ecumenical Relations (IASCER), and the Inter-Anglican Theological and Doctrinal Commission (IATDC).

Members of the Commission are:

The Most Revd Bernard Ntahoturi, Burundi (Chair)
The Rt Revd Dr George Titre Ande, Congo
The Ven Professor Dapo Asaju, Lagos State University, Nigeria
The Revd Canon Dr Paul Avis, England
The Rt Revd Philip D Baji, Bishop of Tanga, Tanzania
The Revd Canon Dr Alyson Barnett-Cowan, Canada
The Revd Canon Dr John Gibaut, WCC Commission on Faith and Order
The Rt Revd Howard Gregory, Bishop of Montego Bay, West Indies
The Revd Dr Katherine Grieb, Virginia Theological Seminary, The
Episcopal Church
The Revd Canon Clement Janda, Sudan
The Revd Dr Edison Muhindo Kalengyo, Uganda Christian University, Uganda
The Rt Revd Victoria Matthews, Bishop of Christchurch, Aotearoa, New
Zealand & Polynesia
The Revd Canon Dr Charlotte Methuen, Oxford University, England
The Revd Dr Simon Oliver, University of Nottingham, England
The Rt Revd Professor Stephen Pickard, Assistant Bishop of Adelaide,
Dr Andrew Pierce, Irish School of Ecumenics, Ireland
The Revd Canon Dr Michael Nai Chiu Poon, Trinity Theological College,
Singapore, South East Asia
The Revd Sarah Rowland Jones, Southern Africa
The Revd Dr Jeremiah Yang, Sheng Gong Hui (Anglican) University, Korea
The Rt Revd Tito Zavala, Bishop of Chile, Southern Cone
The Secretary to the Commission will be the Director for Unity, Faith
and Order, Anglican Communion Office